If you have been seriously injured in a motor vehicle crash and are in need of an experienced car accident lawyer in Baton Rouge, you may be feeling overwhelmed. At the same time you are trying to restore your health and return to your normal life, you are also faced with bills, vehicle repairs or replacements, missed work, and the emotional pain all of this is causing you.
Being a victim of a car accident can be overwhelming and can leave you with lots of questions. If you’ve been injured in an accident that was not your fault, you are entitled to seek justice and compensation from at-fault parties.
At Big River Trial Attorneys, we understand that the whirlwind that happens after an accident and injury can make it difficult to think about legal matters. We want you to know that we are here to take the burden of those responsibilities off of your shoulders. Once on your team, we will handle your injury claim from start to finish, and we will fight to secure the best possible results for your case.
You don’t have to be completely familiar with the law in order to file a car accident lawsuit or personal injury lawsuit–that’s what lawyers are there for. However, knowing a few basic Louisiana car accident laws and personal injury laws is helpful in the wake of an accident. Here’s what you need to know:
You have a limited amount of time to file. In Louisiana, the statute of limitations for filing a lawsuit related to property damage or personal injury is one year from the date of the incident.
Louisiana is a comparative fault state. If you were partially at fault for your accident, but another party or parties were also at fault, you can still file a lawsuit for damages. However, the percent that you were at fault will be subtracted from your award.
Louisiana is not a “fault” insurance state. Louisianans who have been injured in an accident need to file a “third party” claim with the insurance company of the at-fault party, or file a lawsuit against the at-fault party. Only after collecting from at-fault driver can you file a claim with you own under insured motorist policy.
Louisiana requires several types of insurance. Specifically, drivers must have $15,000 in bodily injury insurance, $30,000 in coverage if more than one person is injured, and $25,000 in coverage for property damage.
Even if you are unsure who was at fault for your accident, or even if you aren’t sure if you want to pursue a case, speaking to an attorney gives you the opportunity to tell your story, learn your legal options, and find out what plan of action is best for you and your family.
At Big River Trial Attorneys, our compassionate, experienced attorneys are here to help you. We are not just a face on a billboard. We take on a limited number of cases so that all of our time and attention is focused on getting you the compensation and justice you deserve. We invite you to request a free, confidential consultation with one of our car accident attorneys–so that you can get your questions answered and feel confident about the next step. Call us today at (225) 963-9638 or fill out our contact form to schedule an appointment and meet our team.